Where is Gluten Found?

Gluten is a plant protein found in cereal grains, particularly in wheat. So fruits, vegetables and animal foods such as dairy products, meat, poultry and fish in their natural state are all gluten-free as long as you don’t add anything like breading or sauces to them. The thing about gluten is that it is often used as a cheap filler and protein source, so thousands of processed foods often contain it.

The good news is that to know which foods have gluten and which don’t, it only takes a little bit of label reading and thanks to the Food and Drug Administration’s Food Allergen Labeling and can-soupConsumer Protection Act¹ it’s gotten a bit easier. If a food sold in the United States contains gluten (this includes flavorings and seasonings), it must be declared on the label as ingredients shown below:

Ingredients: Filtered water, organic black beans, organic onions, organic carrots, organic tomatoes, organic celery, organic vegetable stock (cooked vegetables [organic carrots, organic onion, organic celery, organic tomato], organic cane sugar, organic yeast extract, sea salt, organic molasses, organic carrot powder, organic onion powder, organic potato flour, flavoring [contains wheat] contains 2% or less of: organic corn starch, organic tomato paste, sea salt, organic olive oil, organic garlic, organic lime juice, organic spices, organic black pepper. Contains wheat ingredients. Produced in a facility that also processes milk, eggs, shellfish and soy

Gluten-Cutter-Hamburger